Underground Greenhouses, Sailor-ish Soundbites & Pie

When I say “underground” greenhouse, this is what I mean.

I am so looking forward to combining hugelkultur beds, perennial crops and underground greenhouses when we have saved the farm. That’s not the only thing we’ll be doing by a long shot, but the novelty combined with practicality is super appealing.

It’s gonna be amazing. And as a bonus? It’s highly unlikely that there’ll be much crop loss to deer. Possibly some to rabbits and other wee bitty burrowers. I’m going to enjoy finding out.

Anyhoo! A few recent offline and online conversations helped me realize that the blog has been focusing a lot more on the “ask” than the food forest farm, and over the next few days I’ll be remedying that.

I’ve also realized that I’ve tended to really homogenize the content we share in this blog, and I’m not sure that’s the best way to go about this.

There’ll be some experimentation going on, and your feedback is requested. Let me know your thoughts and reactions as we move forward, if you’d be so kind.

On a semi-related note, the ongoing discussion of sound bites hasn’t yet yield the perfect three to five word description of the food forest farm (infused with art and spirit) venture yet. The latest tongue-in-cheek option is: “Food Forest! Fuck Yeah!” but that’s unlikely to actually make it onto a sticker or banner ad. “Cultivating Awesome” is the tag line for our forming nonprofit, but the jury’s still out on whether that connects at all with Perennial Agriculture & art. If you have ideas, we’d love to hear them!

Having said that, I must dash ~ the Pie It Forward people are going to make pie happen in the farmhouse kitchen and I’m going to see if I can pick up a pie tip or two.

20130830-031930.jpg

Leave a Reply

